Psychological stages of development

Individuals create meaning for themselves or make sense of new information by selecting, organizing, and integrating information with other knowledge, often in the context of social interactions.

autonomy vs shame and doubt

In the revised procedures, the participants explained in their own language and indicated that while the water was now "more", the quantity was the same. For example, they may volunteer at their church or mentor young kids.

There are some important aspects that the experimenter must take into account when performing experiments with these children.

generativity vs stagnation

When this happens, children acquire hope, which Erikson described as an openness to experience tempered by some wariness that danger may be present. They may feel guilty over things that logically should not cause guilt.

Initiative vs guilt

Erikson E. Activities sought out by a child in this stage may include risk-taking behaviors, such as crossing a street alone or riding a bike without a helmet; both these examples involve self-limits. Infants learn that new objects can be grabbed in the same way of familiar objects, and adults explain the day's headlines as evidence for their existing worldview. However, if other stages have not been successfully resolved, young adults may have trouble developing and maintaining successful relationships with others. If they are neglectful, or perhaps even abusive, the infant instead learns mistrust — that the world is an undependable, unpredictable, and possibly a dangerous place. This enables the domain to improve the accuracy of the knowledge as well as organization of memories. Each stage in Erikson's theory is concerned with becoming competent in an area of life. These individuals may feel disconnected or uninvolved with their community and with society as a whole. Understanding and knowing how to use full common sense has not yet been completely adapted. Preschoolers are increasingly able to accomplish tasks on their own and can explore new areas. A very approximate rule of thumb for our society would put the end somewhere in one's twenties. According to psychosocial theory, we experience eight stages of development over our lifespan, from infancy through late adulthood. Shame and Doubt" with the best virtue being will.

These children like to act out various family scenes and roles, such as teachers, police officers, doctors, as they see on TV. This is the stage where the child will be curious and have many interactions with other kids.

Psychological stages of development

However, the child still has trouble seeing things from different points of view. Dynamic systems approaches harken to modern neuroscientific research that was not available to Piaget when he was constructing his theory. They become uninterested in their environment and the people around them. If children are instead ridiculed or punished for their efforts or if they find they are incapable of meeting their teachers' and parents' expectations, they develop feelings of inferiority about their capabilities. This stage takes place during young adulthood between the ages of approximately 18 to 40 yrs. Understanding and knowing how to use full common sense has not yet been completely adapted. Erikson was ninety-three years old when she wrote about the ninth stage. Caution must be taken at this age while children may explore things that are dangerous to their health and safety.

Within instances requiring initiative, the child may also develop negative behaviors.

Rated 10/10 based on 110 review
Erikson's stages of psychosocial development